Skip to main content

AFSCME Florida Announces Endorsements in Key South Florida State Legislative Races

Mark McCullough
Social share icons

Tallahassee, FL – Today, following a member-led screening process, AFSCME Florida is endorsing several South Florida state legislative candidates for this November’s election.

Reflecting the composition of AFSCME’s membership and issues our communities face, the endorsements announced today span the political spectrum.

“A democracy like ours needs passionate leaders in touch with their constituents and committed to moving our state forward,” said Willie Pouncy Jr., AFSCME Florida Region 3 PEOPLE Chair. “We strive to engage elected officials on the issues that matter to our members and their families, regardless of political party and these endorsements reflect that.”

The endorsements, made through the union’s Public Employees Organized to Promote Legislative Equality (PEOPLE) committee, will be backed up by various campaign efforts through the August primary and November general election. Additional endorsements will be announced following the screening process for those races.

The candidates endorsed by the hardworking members of AFSCME Florida include:

  • Joseph S. "Joe" Geller – House District 100
  • Sharon Pritchett – House District 102
  • Ivette Gonzalez Petkovich – House District 103
  • Barbara A. Watson – House District 107
  • Francesca Menes – House District 108
  • Cynthia Ann Stafford – House District 109
  • Nicholas Xavier Duran – House District 112
  • David Richardson – House District 113
  • Daisy J. Baez – House District 114
  • Kionne L. McGhee – House District 117
  • Oscar Braynon II – Senate District 35
  • Rene Garcia – Senate District 36
  • Miguel Diaz de la Portilla – Senate District 37
  • Gwen Margolis – Senate District 38
  • Anitere Flores – Senate District 39
  • Dwight Mitchell Bullard – Senate District 40